The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 98-<u>34</u> **Oklahoma Rural Systematic Initiative**

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes and the Oklahoma Rural Systematic Initiative (OKRSI) seek and support improved opportunities for our children,

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes and the OKRISI are actively working towards improved science, mathematics and technology education,

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes and the OKRSI seek to engage all students in high quality, rigorous, meaningful science, mathematics and technology,

WHEREAS.

The Five Civilized Tribes and the OKRSI will support curriculum and instructional strategies to reflect the learning styles of all children,

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes are actively working towards economic development and improved workforce preparation,

WHEREAS,

The OKRSI and the Five Civilized Tribes will encourage the counseling of students to take advantage and prepare for opportunities in the changing workforce,

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes and the OKRSI will involve parents in family math and science events,

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes and OKRSI plan to work collaboratively through Johnson O'Malley, tribal education services, and OKRSI collaborative partnerships,

WHEREAS,

Chickasaw Nation

We agree to support the systemic efforts of the National Science Foundation's OKRSI project in our communities and schools attended by our children.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma endorses and supports the Oklahoma Rural Systemic Initiative for math and science program for rural Indian students in the State of Oklahoma.

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting at Sulphur, Oklahoma on October 9, 1998, by a vote of $\underline{23}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against and 0 abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed
Joe Byrd, Principal Chief
Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed
Perry Beaver, Principal Chief
Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Greg E. Pyle Signed
Cherokee Nation

Jerry Haney Signed
Jerry Haney, Principal Chief
Seminole Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed
Bill Anoatubby, Governor