# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

# NUMBER 98-<u>33</u> Access Surplus Property

#### WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

#### WHEREAS,

In 1993, the Federal Government created Public Law 93-599, providing Tribes with the opportunity to acquire title to excess property located within former reservation boundaries; and

#### WHEREAS,

The Seminole Nation attempted to access surplus property utilizing PL 93-599, and

# WHEREAS,

The Department of the Interior made the decision to deny the Seminole Nation property located in an area previously ceded to the Seminole Nation by the 1856 Treaty with the Creeks, which created and established boundaries encompassing the requested property, and

#### WHEREAS,

This decision could adversely affect future donation of surplus property to any of the Tribes.

# NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes endorsed and supports the Seminole Nation in their attempt to receive title to surplus federal government property within former Seminole Nation reservation boundaries.

# CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting at Sulphur, Oklahoma on October 9, 1998, by a vote of  $\underline{23}$  for,  $\underline{0}$  against and  $\underline{0}$  abstentions.

Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed

Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation