The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 98-<u>31</u>

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (PRWORA) also know as the Welfare Reform Act has a significant impact on Indian tribes and individuals, and

WHEREAS,

The National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) has requested tribes, tribal consortia and inter-tribal organizations to submit names for appointment to the welfare reform task force, and

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes desires to have representatives on the task force to oversee issues related to welfare reform, and

WHEREAS,

The Social Services Committee of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes has elected Edwin Marshall as its primary representative and Jerry Snell as its alternate representative to be appointed to the welfare reform task force.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized of Oklahoma does herby support the appointments stated above for submission to the National Congress of American Indians.

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma meeting held at Sulphur, Oklahoma on October 9, 1998, by a vote of $\underline{23}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation