# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

#### NUMBER 98-29

## A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES DECLARING AND AFFIRMING SUPPORT TO THE MUSCOGEE (CREEK) NATION FOR THE OPPOSING OF ADVERSE IMPACT TO THE "OCMULGEE OLD FIELDS"

#### WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

#### WHEREAS,

THE Georgia Department of Transportation and the Federal Highways Administration have developed a project which involves the extension of the Eisenhower Parkway from I-75 to Emery Highway/U.S. 80 in Macon, Georgia. The Eisenhower Parkway Extension for the Fall Line Freeway the route would traverse the Ocmulgee Old Fields, and

#### WHEREAS,

The Keeper of the National Register of Historic Places declared in August, 1997, that the Old Fields are eligible to be listed as a "Traditional Cultural Property," the only such land east of the Mississippi River. The bloodline descendants trace the birthplace of their confederacy to this area, which stretches from the Ocmulgee National Monument to the Bond Swamp National Wildlife Refuge, and

#### WHEREAS,

The member nations of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes share a geographic region which encompasses both ancestral homelands and contemporary jurisdictional areas; and

#### WHEREAS,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes assist in securing and supporting the rights of each member nation under the authority of NAGPRA, recognizing and affirming the sovereignty of each member Nation. The NAGPRA Committee shall promote tribal consensus through joint deliberations as a means of addressing mutual concerns relevant to the execution of NAGPRA issues involving common boundaries and common lines of descent; as mandated in the ITCFCT's NAGPRA Policy Statement.

### NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes hereby recognize and support the Muscogee (Creek) Nation as the primary appointed purposes of protecting the Birthplace of the Tribal Confederacy.

## **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,**

That the member nations of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes advocate compliance of the National Historic Preservation Act Section 106 and the Executive Order for Indian Sacred Sites.

## CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting in Eufaula, Oklahoma on July 10, 1998, by a vote of  $\underline{25}$  for,  $\underline{0}$  against and  $\underline{0}$  abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Randle Durant Signed for Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation