The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 98-<u>28</u>

A RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH A POLICY STATEMENT FOR THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES FOR THE PURPOSES OF IMPLEMENTING THE NATIVE AMERICAN GRAVES PROTECTION AND REPATRIATION ACT (NAGPRA).

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

Public Law 101-601 enacted the "Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA), November 16, 1990 by the 101st Congress, which mandates the return of certain Human remains, funerary objects, sacred object, and objects of cultural patrimony and provides for the protection of Native American Grave sites and

WHEREAS,

The ITCFCT desires to protect and preserve the cultural heritage of the Southeast cultures, have developed a NAGPRA Committee for the purposes of addressing mutual concerns relevant to the resolve of these spiritual disturbances within our Native communities and

WHEREAS,

The NAGPRA Committee recognized the need to establish a position document to promote the consensual agreements of the Committee and to notify tribal, federal, state agencies and museums or repositories of the intent of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes regarding NAGPRA activities.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes shall implement and promote the position document titled "NAGPRA Policy Statement" for the purposes of establishing a finite group of contemporary Southeast blood descendants of the Untied States to engage in the protection, preservation and expeditious return of our ancestral relatives.

CERTIFICATION

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting in Eufaula, Oklahoma on July 10, 1998, by a vote of $\underline{25}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Randle Durant Signed for

Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation