# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

#### **NUMBER 98-23**

# A Resolution Recommending Removal of the Obligational Limitation Contained in the Transportation Equity Act for the 21<sup>st</sup> Century

#### WHEREAS.

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

#### WHEREAS.

The Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma are responsible for providing for the health, education and general welfare of their respective constituencies; and

#### WHEREAS,

The Inter-Tribal Council has been informed that the Transportation Equity Act for the 21<sup>st</sup> Century (TEA-21) has been passed by the U.S. Congress and limits the obligation of Indian Reservation Roads (IRR) funds to 90%; and,

## WHEREAS,

The remaining 10% of the total IRR appropriation reverts back to the Secretary of Transportation and State Highway Departments; and,

### WHEREAS,

This requirement is inconsistent with prior transportation Acts, and seriously impacts the ability of Tribes to provide access to health care, economic development, education, travel & tourism and employment.

#### NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes of Oklahoma strongly recommends that the U.S. Congress remove the obligational limitation for the IRR program in its deliberations for technical corrections or any subsequent changes to the TEA-21 legislation.

#### **CERTIFICATION**

The foregoing resolution was adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting in Checotah, Oklahoma on July 10, 1998, by a vote of  $\underline{25}$  for,  $\underline{0}$  against and 0 abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed

Joe Byrd, Principal Chief

Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed

Perry Beaver, Principal Chief

Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed

Bill Anoatubby, Governor

Chickasaw Nation

Randle Durant Signed for

Gregory E. Pyle, Chief

**Choctaw Nation** 

Jerry Haney Signed

Jerry Haney, Principal Chief

Seminole Nation