The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 98-<u>12</u>

Opposition to the inclusion of the Johnson O'Malley Program in the amendments of Indian Employment, Training, and Related Services Demonstration Act of 1992

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is the collective voice for all Indian students, and their parents/guardians within our respective jurisdictional boundaries, and

WHEREAS,

The Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes declares that the academic, mental, social, spiritual and physical well being of our American Indian students are of our highest priority; and

WHEREAS,

Through federal treaty, established policy and legal precedent, the United States government has acknowledged its trust responsibility to promote the academic education of Indian people; and

WHEREAS,

The Johnson O'Malley Program Act (25 U.S. C. § 452-257) provides grant funds for supplementary educational services for Indian children, ages three through grade 2, enrolled in public schools or tribal schools; and

WHEREAS,

The supplemental Indian child education program, Johnson O'Malley is outside of the scope of Federal job placement and training programs are not appropriate for integration in a comprehensive employment training program anticipated by amending P.L. 102-477 with S. 1297; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes does not support the inclusion of the Johnson O'Malley Program in the amendments to the Indian Employment and Training and Related Services Demonstration Act of 1992.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at Canadian, Oklahoma on April 3, 1998, by a vote of 25 for, 0 against, and 0 abstentions.

J. Garland Eagle Signed for Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation