The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 98-<u>06</u> Commendation of the Office of Tribal Self-Governance

WHEREAS.

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The director of the Indian Health Service/Public Health Service created the Office of Tribal Self-Governance in 1993 to assist interested tribes with the pursuit of self-determination; and

WHEREAS,

Ms. Paula Williams assumed the role of director of the Office of Tribal Self-Governance in April 1996, and

WHEREAS,

Chickasaw Nation

Ms. Williams and her staff in the Office of Tribal Self-Governance have exhibited dedication and commitment to all tribes participating in self-governance.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes herby commends Ms. Paula Williams and the Office of Tribal Self-Governance for their work on behalf of Indian tribes and Indian people throughout the United States.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at Tahlequah, Oklahoma on April 3, 1998, by a vote of $\underline{25}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

J. Garland Eagle Signed for Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation	Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation
Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation	Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation
Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor	