# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

## NUMBER 97-28

#### WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

#### WHEREAS,

A fully cooperative working relationship between the Five Civilized Tribes and the Area Director, Muskogee Area Office, Bureau of Indian Affairs, has been exhibited by Mr. Jim Fields for the last eighteen months, and

#### WHEREAS,

Mr. Fields has done an extraordinary job representing the Native American people in his service area, and his leadership during difficult times has shown that he is most capable in dealing with sensitive issues, and

#### WHEREAS,

The Inter-Tribal Council unanimously endorses Mr. Fields for the position of permanent Area Director of the Muskogee Area Office.

## NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized hereby requests the Bureau of Indian Affairs to appoint Mr. Fields as the permanent Area Director for the Muskogee Area Office, Bureau of Indian Affairs.

### CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at Sulphur, Oklahoma on October 10, 1997, by a vote of 25 for, <u>0</u> against, and <u>0</u> abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation