The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 97-16

A Resolution in Support of the 1997 Tribal Self-Governance Amendments

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

Congressman George Miller introduced the Tribal Self-Governance Amendments of 1997, and

WHEREAS,

The amendments are an extension of the original 1975 Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act, P.L. 93-638, and

WHEREAS,

The amendments provide for Tribes to compact with the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services for the management and operation of all health programs for eligible American Indians/Alaskan Natives.

WHEREAS,

The amendments create Title V of the Indian Self-Determination Act which enables the demonstration project for compacting with the Department of Health and Human Services to become permanent, and

WHEREAS,

The amendments represent a historic opportunity to strengthen tribal governments and promote the Congressional policy of Indian Self-Determination by giving Indian tribes the authority to operate all federal health care programs.

CERTIFICATION

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the passage of this amendment is vital to the government to government relationship between the Five Civilized Tribes and the Secretary of Health and Human Services the undersigned Chiefs and Governor of the Five Civilized Tribes support the passage of the Tribal Self-Governance Amendments of 1997. Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at Fountainhead Resort in Eufaula, Oklahoma on July 11, 1997, by a vote of $\underline{25}$ for, $\underline{0}$ against, and $\underline{0}$ abstentions.

J. Garland Eagle Signed for Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed Gregory E. Pyle, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation