The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 97-<u>08</u>

Endorsing the Five Civilized Tribes Museum Fundraising Campaign

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes Museum and Center for the Study of Indian Territory is the only museum to portray the unique history of the Five Civilized Tribes and it promotes understanding of these diverse cultures through art and education, and

WHEREAS,

This museum serves as a resource and information clearinghouse for artists, authors, educators, researchers, students and others by providing extensive bibliographic reference and genealogical information relating to all aspects of Indian Territory history, and

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes Museum and Center for the Study of Indian Territory serves as a regional economic development resource through active marketing as a worldwide visitor attraction.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

THAT THE Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes hereby endorses and supports the Five Civilized Tribes Museum and Center for the Study of Indian Territory's fundraising campaign for construction of a new museum.

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting at Arrowhead Lodge in Canadian, Oklahoma, on April 11, 1997, by a vote of 25 for, 0 against and 0 abstention.

J. Garland Eagle Signed for Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed for Hollis Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation