The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 97-04

Resolution Supporting the Designation of the Chickasaw Nation to Develop Repatriation Reburial Activity Protocol

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS.

Dr. Kit Wesley, Director, Wickliffe Mounds Research Center, Murray State University has taken a leadership role to repatriation and reburial issues at the Wickliffe Mounds Research Center that seeks direct and formal involvement of the Five Civilized Tribes, and

WHEREAS,

The Repatriation Committee of the Inter-Tribal Council fully supports the reburial efforts of the Wickliffe Mounds Research Center, and

WHEREAS.

Public Law 101-601 enacted November 16, 1990 by the 101st Congress through H.R. 5237, known as the "Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act" or "NAGPRA," provides that federally recognized Indian Tribes and Nations are responsible for reburial issues, and

WHEREAS,

The Repatriation Committee has determined that the Chickasaw Nation should take the lead for this reburial activity,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

that the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes acknowledges the Chickasaw Nation as the designated nation to develop the proper protocol, procedures and ceremony under which the reburial will take place.