The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 96-29

Opposition to the Bureau of Indian Affairs JOM baseline student count cap

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS.

The federal government of the United States has a unique relationship with American Indian governments who have an interest in preserving and enhancing the educational opportunities for ourselves and our descendants; and,

WHEREAS,

In the October 18, 1995 Federal Register Notice, the Bureau of Indian Affairs selected "Method B" as the method of distribution for the Johnson O'Malley Program; and

WHEREAS,

This method imposes a baseline student count cap and effectively prohibits or limits any flexibility for growth, expansion, or additions of new programs; and,

WHEREAS,

As a result of the method of allocations, the student count and the per student baseline will remain at unrealistic funding levels, and will place discriminating restrictions on services provided to eligible Indian Students.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council actively oppose any type of cap limits or student count which prohibits or limits flexibility for growth, expansion, or addition of new programs that provide educational opportunities for Indian children.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED

That the Inter-Tribal Council carry out the intent of this resolution.

CERTIFICATION

ADOPTED by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at <u>Sulphur, Oklahoma</u> on this 11th day of <u>October</u>, 1996, by a vote of <u>25</u> for, <u>0</u> Against, and 0 Abstentions.

J. Garland Eagle Signed for
Joe Byrd, Principal Chief
Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed
Perry Beaver, Principal Chief
Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed for Hollis Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed
Jerry Haney, Principal Chief
Seminole Nation