The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 96-<u>17</u>

A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES SUPPORTING THE MONIATIONS OF MICHAEL S. HANEY, SEMINOLE NATION TO THE NATIVE AMERICAN GRAVES PROTECTION AND REPATRIATION ACT P.L. 101-601 (NAGPRA) REVIEW COMMITTEE.

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

The Five Civilized Tribes have traditionally upheld high standards of respect and dignity for their ancestors; and

WHEREAS,

Section 8 of Public Law 101-601, signed by President Bush on November 16, 1990, creates a Review Committee, for which tribal leaders may recommend three (3) members; and

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes supports the nominations of Michael S. Haney, Seminole Nation of Oklahoma, to the Review Committee provided for in Public Law 101-601.

CERTIFICATION

ADOPTED by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at <u>Canadian, Oklahoma</u> on this 12^{th} day of <u>April</u>, 1996, by a vote of <u>24</u> for, <u>0</u> Against, and <u>0</u> Abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Hollis Roberts Signed Hollis Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation