# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

## A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

## NUMBER 96-<u>07</u>

#### WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

## WHEREAS,

Oklahoma has the largest population of Indians than any other state, and has taken the lead in recognizing tribal sovereignty by entering into state and tribal agreements which allows Indian tribes to be solely responsible for operating child welfare programs;

## WHEREAS,

in the proposed Welfare Reform Bill the Congress did not set aside monies for Indian tribes and Indian Tribal Organizations to operate child welfare programs;

#### WHEREAS,

The proposed Child Protection Block Grants to states will in effect repeal the Title IV-B program funding. Tribes which have been certified for Title IV-B, part I, Child Welfare Services and sub-part 2, Family Preservation and Family Support Services grant awards will no longer receive direct federal funds if the Welfare Reform Bill becomes law in its present form.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes recommends Congress to set aside funds for Indian Tribes to operate child welfare programs;

## **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,**

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes recommends the State of Oklahoma provide to Indian tribes the funds currently received from Title IV-B and to use the formula developed by DHHS to figure tribal allocations.

## CERTIFICATION

**ADOPTED** by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at <u>Wagoner, Oklahoma</u> on January 12, 1996 by a vote of 25 for, <u>0</u> Against, and <u>0</u> Abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed for Hollis Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation