# The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

# A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

#### NUMBER 96-<u>06</u>

#### WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

#### WHEREAS,

currently Indian tribes and Indian Tribal Organizations located in states eligible to receive funds under section 427 of the Social Security Act may certify eligibility for funds under section 427. States receive these funds, and it is from the state's share that section 428 of the Act specifies that direct payments to Indian tribes and Indian Tribal Organizations shall be deemed to be a part of the allotment of the state in which the Indian tribe or Indian Tribal Organization is located;

#### WHEREAS,

in the proposed Welfare Reform Bill the Congress did not set aside monies for Indian tribes and Indian Tribal Organizations to operate child welfare programs;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes recommends Congress to set aside funds for Indian Tribes to operate child welfare programs;

## **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,**

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes recommends the U.S. Congress to set aside monies to provide Indian tribes the funds currently received from Title IV-B and to use the formula developed by DHHS to figure tribal allocations.

# CERTIFICATION

**ADOPTED** by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at <u>Wagoner, Oklahoma</u> on January 12, 1996 by a vote of  $\underline{25}$  for,  $\underline{0}$  Against, and  $\underline{0}$  Abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed for Hollis Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation