The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

NUMBER 96-<u>03</u>

A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES SUPPORTING THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS INCLUSION OF A TRIBAL SUMMIT RELEVANT TO THE EXECUTION OF THE NATIVE AMERICAN GRAVES PROTECTION AND REPATRIATION (NAGPRA)

WHEREAS,

the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), and Seminole Nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and

WHEREAS,

each of the Five Civilized Tribes are currently engaged in establishing the capacity to implement the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA), and

WHEREAS,

it is in the interest of each member tribe to create opportunities to address all relevant aspects of NAGPRA through joint deliberation, and

WHEREAS,

the 1996 Mid-Year Conference of the National Congress of American Indians offers an opportunity for Native American Nations to discuss and deliberate issues relevant to the execution of the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED,

that the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes supports the inclusion of a Native American Graves Protection Summit in the National Congress of American Indians' 1996 Mid-Year Conference.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,

That the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes authorizes members of its Repatriation Subcommittee to design and develop the agenda of this NAGPRA Summit.

CERTIFICATION

ADOPTED by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting held at <u>Wagoner, Oklahoma</u> on <u>January 12, 1996</u> by a vote of <u>25</u> for, <u>0</u> Against, and <u>0</u> Abstentions.

Joe Byrd Signed Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Perry Beaver Signed Perry Beaver, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation Greg E. Pyle Signed for Hollis Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation

Jerry Haney Signed Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation

Bill Anoatubby Signed Bill Anoatubby, Governor Chickasaw Nation