## A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

## **Resolution No. 95-45**

## RESOLUTION TO LIMIT ADMINISTRATION FOR NATIVE AMERICANS FUNDING OF NON-FEDERALLY RECOGNIZED INDIAN TRIBES TO 1% OF PROGRAM FUNDS

- **WHEREAS,** the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which unites the tribal governments of the Choctaw, Chickasaw, Muscogee (Creek), Seminole and Cherokee nations, representing over 300,000 Indian people throughout the United States, and
- **WHEREAS,** the Administration for Native Americans provides financial assistance to Indians and Alaska natives for socio-economic development purposes, and
- **WHEREAS,** the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes has become aware that a significant portion of funds from the Administration for Native Americans is provided to non-federally recognized Indian Tribes in their pursuit of federal recognition, and
- **WHEREAS,** the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes feels that a disproportionate share of Administration for Native Americans funds are awarded to non-federal recognized Indian Tribes through the current solicitation process, and
- **WHEREAS,** by providing funding to these non-federally recognized Indian Tribes in their efforts to acquire federal recognition, federally recognized Indian Tribes are limited in the funds available for their pursuit of socio-economic endeavors.
- **NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes feel that the Administration for Native Americans should design a new competitive area specifically for non-federally recognized Indian Tribes, and
- **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED,** that this competitive area be allocated no more than 1% of the total grant awards available through the Administration for Native Americans.

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting at Sulphur, Oklahoma on October 13, 1995, by a vote of  $\underline{28}$  for,  $\underline{0}$  against, and  $\underline{0}$  abstentions.

Signed by Garland Eagle for Joe Byrd, Principal Chief Cherokee Nation

Signed by Bill Fife Bill Fife, Principal Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation

Signed by Bill Anoatubby Bill Anoatubby, Governor The Chickasaw Nation Signed by Gregory E. Pyle for \_\_\_\_\_ Hollis Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma

Signed by Jerry Haney Jerry Haney, Principal Chief Seminole Nation of Oklahoma