A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

Resolution No. 95-42

A RESOLUTION OPPOSING ANY FUNDING DISTRIBUTION FORMULA NOT BASED ON CASELOAD TO THE TRIBAL PRIORITY ALLOCATION

- WHEREAS, the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which united the tribal governments of the Choctaw, Chickasaw, Muscogee (Creek), Seminole and Cherokee Nations, representing over 300,000 tribal members throughout the United States, and
- **WHEREAS**, the funding for the welfare Grant Assistance program have been based on the continuing documented need of the clientele receiving services, and
- **WHEREAS,** the transfer of welfare assistance funds to TPA as proposed by BIA, would result in a funding cap being placed on welfare assistance funds. The transfer would force tribes to operate within their TPA budget to address any shortfalls in welfare assistance funds, and
- **WHEREAS,** it is understood that the funding distribution process never materialized during the tribal consultation meeting held in Albuquerque, New Mexico on June 20-22, 1995.
- **NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes opposes any funding distribution formula not based on caseload need and would not support a transfer of the general assistance program to the Tribal Priority Allocation as a tribal share concept and request that Bureau of Indian Affairs conduct another consultation meeting to address the unresolved funding distribution issue.

CERTIFICATION

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes in a meeting held at the Creek Council

| House in Okmulgee, Oklahoma, July 14, 199 | 95, by a vote of: <u>25</u> for, <u>0</u> Against, <u>0</u> Abstentions. |
|---|--|
| (Signed by Gregory Pyle for) | Signed by Chief Fife |
| Hollis E. Roberts, Chief | Bill S. Fife, Chief |
| Choctaw Nation | Muscogee (Creek) Nation |
| (Signed by John A. Ketcher for) | Signed by Chief Haney |
| Wilma P. Mankiller, Chief | Jerry Haney, Chief |
| Cherokee Nation | Seminole Nation |
| (Signed by Bill Anoatubby) | |
| Bill Anoatubby, Governor | |