A RESOLUTION OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES NO. 95-10 A Resolution Supporting the Legislative Efforts of Rep. Rochelle Chronister, Kansas, to redesignate areas in Southeast Kansas as the "Opothle Yahola Historic Trail"

- WHEREAS, The Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which united the Tribal Governments of the Choctaw, Chickasaw, Muscogee (Creek), Seminole and Cherokee Nations, representing over 300,000 tribal members throughout the United States; and,
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Rochelle Chronister, Representative, State of Kansas, with support from the Woodson County Preservation Inc., and the Kansas State Historical Society, (attachments), proposes to introduce legislative to redesignate the areas of the Verdigris, Fall and the Big Sandy River Valleys in Southeast Kansas, as the "Opothle Yahola Historic Trail"; and,
- WHEREAS, Opothle Yahola, a Mvkokee forefather, to escape the "White Man's War" (Civil War), led those fragments of the Five Civilized Tribes, and of other tribes loyal to the United States Government, to the State of Kansas for refuge; and,
- **WHEREAS,** Opothle Yahola, on approximately March 27, 1863, died at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, where he went to confer with President Abraham Lincoln and Indian Agents concerning aid, and assistance in return to Indian Territory; and,
- WHEREAS, His remains were escorted back to Belmont, Kansas, and placed in an unmarked grave next to his beloved daughter; and,
- WHEREAS, Opothle Yahola was recognized by his Tribe as the Speaker of the Upper Towns, a Prophet and a Medicine Man. Also, the first Mvkokee inducted into the National Hall of Fame for Famous American Indians, Anadarko, Oklahoma, on August, 1993, joining nine other forefathers of the Five Civilized Tribes in this prestigious Hall.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:

The Five Civilized Tribes, by resolution, fully supports the legislative efforts Representative Rochelle Chronister, Rural Route 2, Neosha, Kansas 66757, to redesignate those above named areas, "The Opothle Yahola Historic Trail" in recognition of his significant to the history of Kansas, and to this Nation.

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting at Arrowhead Resort, Canadian, OK on this <u>13th</u> day of January, 1995 by a vote of <u>24</u> for, <u>0</u> against, <u>0</u> abstentions.

_(Signed by Mary Flute-Cooksey for)___

Wilma P. Mankiller, Chief The Cherokee Nation

<u>(Signed by Chief Haney)</u> Jerry Haney, Chief Seminole Nation of Oklahoma

(Signed by Chief Fife)

Bill S. Fife, Chief Muscogee (Creek) Nation <u>(Signed by Governor Anoatubby)</u> Bill Anoatubby, Governor The Chickasaw Nation

__(Signed by Gregory E. Pyle for) _____

Hollis Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma