## A Resolution of the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes No. <u>95-01</u>

A Resolution In Support of Establishing and Maintaining a South Central Regional Office for the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) To Be Located in Oklahoma, with the Subject Region to Consist of the States of Oklahoma, Texas, Kansas and Louisiana.

- WHEREAS, the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes is an organization which united the tribal governments of the Choctaw, Chickasaw, Muscogee (Creek), Seminole and Cherokee Nation, representing over 300,000 tribal members throughout the United States, and
- WHEREAS, the Department of the Interior, Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), is currently considering restructuring the BIA pursuant to the Administration's National Performance Review and other guidelines, directives and task force recommendations, and
- WHEREAS, the BIA is considering the elimination of elimination of area Offices as an administrative level of its organization and creating several regions, each of which would be administered from a regional office, and
- WHEREAS, the BIA has proposed several rationalization plans wherein tribes located within the State of Oklahoma would be included within the boundaries of various different regions, and
- WHEREAS, the BIA is currently in process of consulting with federally recognized Indian tribes and soliciting their input on the merits and/or deficiencies of the various regions which have been proposed and/or alternatives to said proposed regions, and
- WHEREAS, at a tribal consultation meeting held on January 9, 1995, the BIA proposed, along with two other regionalization plan of 8 regions, referred to by the BIA as Option "8A", one of which would be a region composed of the states of Oklahoma and Texas; and
- WHEREAS, due to considerations of geographic location, administrative efficiency, and density of Indian population, the regional office of an Oklahoma, Kansas, Louisiana and Texas region should be located in the State of Oklahoma.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT, the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes, does hereby, by this Resolution, fully support the creation of a BIA regionalization plan which would include a region consisting of the states of Oklahoma, Kansas, Louisiana and Texas, with the regional office to be located in the State of Oklahoma.

Adopted by the Inter-Tribal Council of the Five Civilized Tribes meeting in <u>Arrowhead</u> on this <u> $13^{th}$ </u> day of January, 1995, by a vote of <u>34</u> for, <u>0</u> against, and <u>0</u> abstentions.

(Signed by Mary Flute-Cooksey for) Wilma P. Mankiller, Principal Chief The Cherokee Nation

<u>(Signed by Chief Haney)</u> Jerry Haney, Principal Chief The Seminole Nation of Oklahoma

<u>(Signed by Chief Fife)</u> Bill Fife, Principal Chief, Muscogee (Creek) Nation <u>(Signed by Governor Anoatubby)</u> Bill Anoatubby, Governor The Chickasaw Nation

<u>(Signed by Chief Roberts)</u> Hollis E. Roberts, Chief Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma