The INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL of the FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES

Organized February 03, 1950

QUARTERLY MEETING OF THE INTER-TRIBAL COUNCIL OF THE FIVE CIVILIZED TRIBES FOUNTAINHEAD RESORT HOTEL FRIDAY, JULY 11, 1997 9:00 A.M.

Chief Perry Beaver called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m. Invocation was given by Reverend Bertram Bobb. Roll call was conducted by Tammi Harris, Recording Secretary. A quorum was established with 25 members present.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

CHEROKEE NATION: Deputy Chief James Garland Eagle, proxy for Chief Joe Byrd, Mary Cooksey, proxy for Deputy Chief James Garland Eagle, Sam Ed Bush, Dora Mae Waity, proxy for Harold DeMoss and Paula Holder.

CHICKASAW NATION: Governor Bill Anoatubby, Lt. Governor David Brown, Rena Duncan, Pat Woods and Kennedy Brown.

CHOCTAW NATION: Chief Greg Pyle, Jack Ferguson, proxy for Assistant Chief Mike Bailey, Loyce Bell, Randle Durant and Reverend Bertram Bobb.

MUSCOGEE (CREEK) NATION: Chief Perry Beaver, Second Chief George Almerigi, Wilburn Gouge, Earl Wheeler and Patrick Moore.

SEMINOLE NATION: Chief Jerry Haney, Assistant Chief James Factor, Eula Doonkeen, Toby Wise and Terri Springer.

Chief Perry Beaver gave a warm welcome to all the council and audience, he then recognized the ITC members with the Creek Nation. Chief Beaver recognized Chief Greg Pyle as the new Chief of the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma.

Chief Greg Pyle, Chief Jerry Haney, Governor Bill Anoatubby and Deputy James Garland Eagle, each gave a welcome to the Inter-Tribal Council and introduced each member of their council.

Chief Greg Pyle was voted in as Vice-President for the Inter-Tribal Council. Toby Wise made the motion and Terri Springer made a second. Motion carried.

Motion to approve April 11, 1997 minutes was given by Randle Durant with Lt. Governor David Brown giving a second. There was one correction added to the April 11, 1997 minutes, being Mary Cooksey was omitted as being present at this meeting. Motion carried.

Presentation of Scholarships:

Chief Jerry Haney presented two students for the \$100.00 scholarships. They were Jackie Winn and Sene Evans.

Chief Greg Pyle presented two students with the \$100.00 scholarships. They were Amanda Sirmans and Jennifer Tom.

Governor Bill Anoatubby presented two students with the \$100.00 scholarships. They were Melissa Rich and David Johnson.

Deputy Chief James Garland Eagle presented two students with the \$100.00 scholarships. They were Michael Justis and <u>record left blank</u>.

Chief Perry Beaver then asked the JOM Director of the Creek Nation to present two \$100.00 scholarships for the Creek Nation. They were Sheila Shalanke, whose father accepted the award in her place, and Brian On-The-Hill.

The Louie LeFlore Scholarship Award was presented by the Creek Nation. The recipient for this award was Cimmaron Chastain from the Creek Nation.

The Choctaw Nation will be giving the Louie LeFlore Scholarship award to one of their students at the Inter-Tribal Quarterly Meeting that will take place in July, 1998.

Resolutions:

Governor Bill Anoatubby introduced Resolution #FY-97-16. This resolution is in support of the 1997 Tribal Self-Governance Amendments. Governor Anoatubby made a motion to accept this resolution and Jack Ferguson seconded. All approved. Motion carried.

Governor Bill Anoatubby introduced Resolution #FY-97-17. This resolution is regarding a Non-Census Issue of the Proposed Final Rules for the Native American Housing Assistance and Self Determination Act of 1996. (NAHASDA) Governor Anoatubby made a motion to accept this resolution. It was seconded by Eula Doonkeen. All approved. Motion carried.

Chief Greg Pyle introduced Resolution #FY-97-18. This is a resolution requesting the Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs to publish regulation for issuance of Certificates of Degree of Indian Blood. Chief Greg Pyle made a motion to accept this resolution. Randal Durant seconded. All approved. Motion carried.

Governor Bill Anoatubby introduced Resolution #FY-97-19. This resolution is for the endorsement of MR. Ted Key for the job of Deputy Assistant Secretary for the Office of Native American Programs within the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development. Governor Anoatubby made a motion to accept this resolution. Rena Duncan seconded. All approved. Motion carried.

Agency Reports;

Bureau of Indian Affairs report was given by Dennis Wickliff, Self-Governance Specialist for the Muskogee Area Office. Mr. Wickliff gave a brief report and then introduced Mr. Jimmy Gibson, Superintendent for the Okmulgee Agency, Mr. Harvey Williams, Acting Superintendent for the Wewoka Agency, Mr. Robert Impson, Superintendent for the Chickasaw Agency.

Housing at Urban Development report was given by Mr. Wayne Sims.

Indian Health Services report was given by Mr. Randy Grinnel.

Oklahoma Indian Affairs Commission report was given by Ms. Barbara Warner.

United States Department of Agriculture report was given by Mr. Phillip Bread.

Next meeting scheduled for October 9 & 10, 1997. The Chickasaw Nation will be the host tribe. Meeting is set to be at the Chickasaw Motor Inn in Sulphur, Oklahoma.

Pat Woods, representative of the National Indian Council on Aging, gave a report on the reauthorization of the Older Americans Act and gave information on the Senior Citizen Programs.

Benediction was given by Reverend Bertram Bobb.

Meeting was adjourned at 12:10 p.m.